HomeRV Park ReviewsGeorgiaPerry, GA – Crossroads Travel Park Review

Crossroads Travel Park Website

Date of Stay: Arrive April 3, 2016, depart April 4, 2016; arrive November 12, depart November 13, 2015

General Information

20151113_104933.jpgLocated right off I-75 in Perry, GA, this resort is a good overnight stop with 74 total RV sites which can claims it can accommodate RV’s up to 80 ft, 20/30/50 amp, full hookups and partial hookups. Open year round.

Rates:
Passport America rates available ($20) – valid for 6 nights.

Overall Impression – 2/5
Not the best campground we have been to but apparently the new owners have been working hard to improve it. While there may be an 80′ site here the majority can’t handle a rig that size.Good for an overnight stop if you are not towing anything real big and don’t mind the high probability of un-hitching. However, it’s close to I-75 and for the price (Passport America) hard to beat. In our minds, it still easily trumps the higher priced KOA’s (rate $42+) that we have stayed 20151112_141607.jpgat in this area.

From reading the reviews and talking to the owner of the small BBQ restaurant next door, the previous owner was never there so the place became very run down. As of April 2015 the new owners removed a number of old trailers that were stored on the premises and will probably be making further improvements.

The paved roads are narrow20151112_180601.jpg and required a bit of maneuvering finesse but with the campground mostly empty were not a Grillmaster BBQ Menu.jpgproblem.

When  you check in, you’re given a coupon for 15% off a meal at the small BBQ Restaurant (The Grillmaster) located near the entrance. We had take out there – highly recommend it. Friendly owner, reasonable prices and really good food (especially the potato salad). Great for take out since it only has a few tables.

Sites

Size – 2/5
20151113_112907.jpgOn our Nov 2015 visit, we were assigned paved pull thru site #46. It was pretty narrow and not enough to fully contain our 43′ rig with our tow and maintain comfortable access to the utility hookups. Even after unhitching it took us a few tries to get properly situated so that we were within the confines of the site and still well positioned for the utilities. We were at the end of a row so did have a wide expanse of grass, a large tree and no neighbors on the passenger side which was nice. #46 was also unlevel to the point that some of our tires were almost off the ground. Several of the pull thrus seemed to have similar issues but others were okay.

On our Apr 2016 visit we were assigned paved pull thru site #34. It was barely long enough for just the coach (43′) and the sewer hookup was very poorly positioned and required more than 30′ of sewer hose. Other coaches arrived after us with tow trailers and did not fit on their sites either, leaving the roadways blocked. The next morning we had to back up a few feet to allow the 45′ coach next to us room to get out.

Privacy – 2/5
None to speak of. Sites are fairly close together but our site #46 was at the end of a row and had a very large and pleasant “yard”. Site #34 was also at the end of a row and also had a small “yard”.

Amenities – 3/5
In addition to the full hookups, the campground has a dump station, Cable TV, Wi-Fi, restrooms, showers, handicap access, 24-hour laundry, outdoor swimming pool (it was closed when we were there), picnic area, propane, playground, and basketball.

Location:

Convenience – 4/5
Very convenient to I-75 making it a good overnight stopping place. Close to restaurants, grocery stores, Walmart and other conveniences.

Physical Surroundings – 2/5
Suburban surroundings outside the campground. The interior of the campground was pleasant enough. The roads and sites looked old, but still managed to present a clean and neat appearance.

Maneuverability and Roads – 3/5
20151112_141710.jpgVery close to I-75, no access issues but the entrance is a bit confusing and narrow. Likewise, narrow paved roads on the interior which required some careful maneuvering for our 43′ rig, but nothing a moderately experienced driver couldn’t handle unless the campground is full and the roads are partially blocked.

Peace & Quiet – 3/5
Very close to I-75 as well as a main road so there is the potential for traffic noise, but we didn’t notice it.

Utilities – 2/5

  • Sewer – Site #46: cap at grade; no thread, cap broken or loose. With our mid coach mounted wet bay, if we pulled all the way forward to fit the toad that created a very long run to the sewer pipe. Site #34: cap at grade, no thread, missing cover. 30′ plus run from our mid-coach wet bay, we had to borrow a length of stinky slinky from the campground.
  • Satellite Most sites here should be okay for satellite but there could be a few where it is an issue. We hit all 3 satellites in the DISH western arc (110/119/129) but the locals were not available in HD due to spot beam issues on 129.
  • WiFi – Free WiFi is offered but we didn’t try it.
  • Cellular signal – Adequate Verizon 4G LTE inside and outside the coach with no booster.
  • Over-the-Air (OTA) TV – Good, we got all major networks except CBS without cranking up the antenna or pointing it.
  • Power – Voltage was good at 125v+on both legs. 20/30/50 amp hookups. 50 amp was clearly a relatively new retrofit but there were no breakers at the site so we had to plug/unplug hot.
  • Water Pressure/Quality – Good pressure, no turbidity, moderate chlorine odor.

What We Liked
– Convenience to I-75.
– Within walking distance to a great BBQ restaurant.
– Low PPA rates.

What We Didn’t Like
– Some unlevel sites.
– Sewer hookup location requiring long hose runs and cap in need of repair.
– No breaker on 50A electric hookups requiring a hot plug/unplug.
– Most pull thru’s too short for big rigs with tow.

20151113_110402.jpg 20151113_110325.jpg 20151113_110351.jpg 20151113_110250.jpg 20151113_110222.jpg 20151113_105048.jpg 20151113_105026.jpg 20151113_105000.jpg 20151113_104953.jpg


Comments

Perry, GA – Crossroads Travel Park Review — 1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Movin’ on South! – My Quantum Discovery

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: